top-nav-left top-nav-right

Article Search


Voting begins on 2008 NZ Car of the Year


New Zealand’s Motoring Writers’ Guild will choose the 2008 New Zealand Car of the Year from a shortlist of nine finalists

More than three dozen established motoring journalists, each of whom is a member of the New Zealand Motoring Writers' Guild, will vote on the award during the next few weeks.

The winner will be announced early in the New Year.

The journalists work for daily and weekly newspapers, automotive websites, car and lifestyle magazines, and radio and television.

The Guild's Car of the Year committee selected the nine finalists from all new models launched in New Zealand during the year to 1 November, 2008.

In alphabetical order, the 2008 shortlist is: the Fiat 500, the FG-series Ford Falcon, the Honda Accord Euro and Hyundai i30, Jaguar XF saloon, Mazda6, Nissan X-Trail, Subaru Forester and Volkswagen Tiguan.

Journalists voting on the award consider each car’s performance and handling, suitability for the task for which it was designed, its value for money, ease of operation, fuel  economy, build quality, equipment level, safety and styling. Each voter scores a vehicle out of 100.

The winner will be awarded the Peter Greenslade Trophy, named after the late motoring editor of The Press newspaper in Christchurch. Greenslade helped found the NZ Motoring Writers’ Guild and was an instigator of the Car of the Year award.

The current NZ Car of the Year title-holder is the Mazda2 (pictured).

Auto Trader New Zealand