Article Search


Toyota Prius scoops Japan's Car of the Year


The Toyota Prius has narrowly taken the 2009-10 Japan Car of the Year title

The Prius narrowly beat Honda's Insight to claim the trophy by 433 votes to 391.

The jury consisted of 61 experts, coming together at the Tokyo Motor Show.

The Volkswagen Golf, which came third with 186 votes, was crowned 'Import Car of the Year'. The Mitsubishi i-MiEV came fourth and the Mercedes Benz E-Class fifth.

The special award for 'Most Advanced Technology' was awarded to the Mitsubishi i-MiEV, while the Nissan Fairlady Z (370Z) with its synchro-rev six-speed transmission won the prize for 'Most Fun'.

The trophy for 'Best Value' was awarded to the Subaru Legacy.

List of previous winners:

2008–2009 Toyota iQ
2007–2008 Honda Fit
2006–2007 Lexus LS
2005–2006 Mazda MX-5
2004–2005 Honda Legend
2003–2004 Subaru Legacy
2002–2003 Honda Accord
2001–2002 Honda Fit
2000–2001 Honda Civic
1999–2000 Toyota Vitz
1998–1999 Toyota Altezza
1997–1998 Toyota Prius
1996–1997 Mitsubishi Galant
1995–1996 Honda Civic
1994–1995 Mitsubishi FTO
1993–1994 Honda Accord
1992–1993 Nissan March
1991–1992 Honda Civic
1990–1991 Mitsubishi Diamante
1989–1990 Toyota Celsior
1988–1989 Nissan Silvia
1987–1988 Mitsubishi Galant
1986–1985 Nissan Pulsar
1985–1986 Honda Accord
1984–1985 Toyota MR2
1983–1984 Honda Civic
1982–1983 Mazda Capella
1981–1982 Toyota Soarer
1980–1981 Mazda Familia

Auto Trader New Zealand