Article Search


Tough battle for Stock Cars Worlds


Hot Stock Car race action in Rotorua as World Invitation Super Stock Champs are run.

Two former winners face a cut-throat repechage this evening to make the final of the World Invitation Super Stock Champs at Rotorua’s Paradise Valley Raceway.

The top six finishers from three groups progressed from last nights qualifying with Taranaki’s Roydon Collingwood having the most successful night and top scoring with a win and two third placings.

Meanwhile 2006 champion Simon Joblin and 2005 champ Darcy Hunter are in this evenings repechage along with other top contenders Jeff Mohi, Trevor Mason and Malcolm Ngatai.

Only the repechage winner will progress to join the 18 qualifiers from last night, the six international drivers and defending champion Shane Penn in the 26-car final over three races.

World Invitation Super Stock Champs - qualifiers:
Red Group: 1 94P Roydon Collingwood, 74pts; 2 14N Dale Ewers 70pts; 3 351A Paul Vazey 65pts; 4 24B Gary Foley 64pts; 5 87R Pat Westbury 63pts; 6 282S Phil Ogle, 61pts.

Green Group: 1= 58P Peter Bengston and 96H Scott Redfern, 72 pts; 3 5V Darryl Taylor 68pts; 4 591P Wayne Hemi 66pts; 5 77P Wayne Norris 65pts; 6 62R Neville Stanaway 63pts.

Blue Group: 16C Mark Osborne 72pts; 2 515R Stan Hickey 68pts; 3= 114R Bryce Steiner and 75A Dave Tennant 63pts; 5= 24P Russell Harrop and 53P Keven Roberts 58pts.
The seeded international drivers are British racers Frankie Wainman Junior, Stu Smith Junior, Peter Falding, Richard Baldwin and Neil Scothern and Dutchman Durk Greidanus.

Auto Trader New Zealand