Article Search


Speedway News Round-Up


Big field for super Stock champs

Eighty-four drivers will contest the 2008 New Zealand Super Stock Car title at Wanganui’s Oceanview Speedway this weekend.

The tight and irregularly-shaped oval should provide a very close championship with the first challenge being four groups of 21 cars each set for Friday night qualifying.

That will decide the 26 qualifiers for the three-race final on Saturday night.

Defending champion Simon Joblin (Taranaki) heads the entry list, and some of the in-form title contenders are Aucklander Kelvin Gray, Palmerston North’s Peter Bengston, Hawke’s Bay racer Shane Penn, Wellington’s Wayne Hemi and Hamiltonian Scott Redfern.

The Palmerston North track dominates the entry list with a turnout of 24 cars; Rotorua has the second biggest representation - 12 cars.

There are 14 drivers (six from Nelson and eight from Christchurch) making the trip from the South Island.

Auto Trader New Zealand