Article Search


Record enty for Sprint Car title


New Zealand's fast-growing and strong speedway Sprint Car category has attracted a record field for the 2008 NZ title meeting.

 A record 52 entries have been received for the 2008 New Zealand Sprint Car Championship at Mount Maunganui’s Baypark Speedway next month.

The January 4-5 New Zealand title meeting offers a $30,000 prize fund and will be decided by a 25-lap feature race.

The notable entries include touring US drivers Craig Dollansky in the Team Salter Maxim and Ricky Logan in the J&J he drives for Auckland’s Keith Simpson.

The field includes defending champion Jamie McDonald (Auckland) along with Kerry Jones (Waiuku) and Allan Wakeling (Aucland) - who are both seeking their ninth NZ title success - and 2005 New Zealand champion Ben Finemore (Tauranga) who ranks as the leading home track contender.

The only South Island drivers making the trip are Canterbury’s Karen Forsey and Lindsay Gilbert.

A busy programme of Sprint Car racing on December 26, 29 and January 1 will provide drivers with shakedown opportunities ahead of the championship double header.

Photo caption: Reigning NZ Sprint Car champion, Jamie McDonald.

Auto Trader New Zealand