Article Search


NZ Car of the Year finalists announced


Twelve cars have been chosen as finalists for the 2009 New Zealand Car of the Year Award

Voted for by more than 30 motoring journalists, each a member of the New Zealand Motoring Writers' Guild, the award is the country's most respected by the car industry.

The Guild's Car of the Year committee has assembled its shortlist of finalists, which has been selected from all new models launched in New Zealand during the 12 months prior to 1 November 2008.

The cars on the 2009 shortlist are:

The vehicles will be tested on roads throughout the country, with their performance and handling, the car's suitability for the task for which it was designed, its value for money, ease of operation, fuel economy, and build quality, level of home comforts and safety accoutrements, and looks considered.

Every vehicle is scored out of 100 by each voter. The distributors of the winning car will be awarded the Peter Greenslade Trophy, named after the now deceased motoring editor of The Press in Christchurch, who was one of the instigators of the Car of the Year award in the late 1980s.

Last year's winner was the Ford Falcon, Other recent winners include the latest Mazda 2, Porsche Cayman, Mazda MX-5 and Mercedes-Benz C-Class, and previous-generations of the Honda Accord Euro and Ford Mondeo.

Auto Trader New Zealand