Article Search


Newsflash: Mason wins his 10th successive stage


The Mason juggernaut continues on the roads of Otago as Richard extends his Leg 2 lead to 20 seconds.

Richard Mason has won his 10th successive stage of the Otago Rally, and has increased his Leg 2 lead over Hayden Paddon to 20 seconds.

Mason (BNT Subaru Impreza WRX STi) won the 13km Waipori Gorge stage, one of his admitted favourites, in 7m 52.2s, more than seven seconds faster that his nearest rival.

Second quickest on the test was Chris West in the Andrew Simms Mitsubishi, 7.5 seconds behind Mason, but still unable to match the Impreza driver’s pace.

West beat Paddon (Lancer Evo 9) by one-tenth of a second.

Evo 9 drivers Stewart Taylor, Brett Martin and Dean Sumner completed the top six.

Drivers now head for the 51km Duns stage, regarded by many as the most crucial of the event.

Auto Trader New Zealand