top-nav-left top-nav-right

Article Search


Whinners the big winner in Oz V8s


Jamie (Whinners) Whincup is the 2008 Australian V8 Supercar champion, clinching the title yesterday at Oran Park, Sydney.

Triple 8 Ford Falcon driver Jamie Whincup, is the 2008 Australian V8 Supercar champion.

Whincup clinched the title by winning the opening race of the series finale at Sydney’s Oran Park yesterday.

Ford Performance Racing (FPR) driver Mark Winterbottom’s hopes of overtaking Whincup were dashed when he was given a penalty that dropped him to a 23rd place finish.

Officials penalised the Orrcon Falcon driver for unsafe release from his pit box and engaging reverse as he exited the pits.

Whincup scored enough points to secure his first title with Winterbottom still looking good for the runner-up spot.

“Everyone’s lifted their game this year,” Winterbottom said. “The championship’s been really close. At Bathurst we still had a chance but each round 888 just gradually got away from us.

“Before that we had the run and before that HRT had the run. Everyone’s had a crack but 888 did it at the time that counts.

“This is the first year I’ve really felt in contention and it gives you confidence to be a genuine front runner. You feel like you’re driving it to its limits.”

Results of Race One.

1. Jamie Whincup, 888 Ford Falcon.

1. Craig Lowndes, 888 Ford Falcon.

2. Russell Ingall, PMM Holden Commodore.

3. Steve Richards, FPR Ford Falcon

4. James Courtney, SBR Ford Falcon.

5. Garth Tander, HRT Holden Commodore.

Auto Trader New Zealand