Article Search


Whincup secures V8 title


Ford's Jamie Whincup has the points to clinch the V8 Supercar championship

Whincup raced to a fifth place finish in the opening 250km race of the Sydney 500 on the weekend, earning the points required to secure an unassailable lead in the championship.

Holden's Garth Tander won the 3.4km race around the streets of Sydney, finishing ahead of Ford duo Mark Winterbottom and Jason Bright to claim his sixth victory of the season.

But credit goes to 26-year-old Whincup, who became the 12th driver to win multiple Australian Touring Car/V8 Supercar championships and the first to go back-to-back since Marcos Ambrose in 2003-04.

"Today was all about getting 22 points," Whincup said.

"I fought hard, I had nothing left in me, the week's been draining. I'm rapt with my performance. I feel like that's the best I could have done. There's not been much time this week to be a racing car driver but to finish it off with that double championship means everything. (I'm) absolutely drained but I'll work hard to get back out there tomorrow."

Whincup started the day needing to finish 28th or higher in either Saturday or Sunday's races but managed to claim third spot on the grid behind Tander and Holden's Lee Holdsworth.

On Sunday, Ford driver James Courtney claimed victory in the year's final race at Sydney's Olympic Park.

The Penrith-raised Jim Beam Racing driver finished ahead of fellow Sydneysiders Michael Caruso and Mark Winterbottom. 

Top Ten 2009 V8 Supercar Championshp Standings

1. Jamie Whincup, 3349pts
2. Will Davison, 3044pts
3. Garth Tander, 2916pts
4. Craig Lowndes, 2592pts
5. Mark Winterbottom, 2414pts
6. Steven Johnson, 2255pts
7. James Courtney, 2192pts
8. Rick Kelly, 2162pts
9. Russell Ingall, 2048pts
10. Lee Holdsworth, 2006pts .

Auto Trader New Zealand