Article Search


Weekend speedway news round-up


Shayne Alach wins the Midget Car feature at Western Springs and Michael Pickens misses out on clinching the Springs Midget series before the season finale on March 3. And Gerry Linklater takes Stock Car honours.

Midget Car crown still up for grabs

February 18, 2007. Michael Pickens missed an opportunity to seal the rich Springs National Series for Midget Cars at Western Springs last night.

He led the series by 29 points going into Saturday night’s penultimate race but was sidelined after just four laps with a flat right-rear tyre.

Victory in the 20-lap feature race went to Shayne Alach in his Breka-Esslinger who edged out Bryce Townsend (Aggressor-Hawk) to claim his second Springs feature victory of the season.

Townsend’s efforts lift him to second in the series with 93 points, trailing Pickens on 109.

There are 26 points available to the winner of the March 3 series finale and teenager Brad Mosen on 87 along with Alach and Graham Standring – who finished third last night – tied for fourth place on 85 points all have a slim chance of winning the series.

Photo caption: Shayne Alach leads Bryce Townsend during Saturday night’s Midget Car feature race.

Linklater takes Stock Car title

February 18, 2007. Wanganui racer Gerry Linklater won the New Zealand Stock Car title at Auckland’s Waikaraka Park Speedway last night.

After 135 cars raced in six groups to reduce the field to 30 finalists it was Linklater who completed the three 20-lap finals with a fourth, first and fifth placing to clinch the title with 83 points from a possible 90.

Linklater had trailed Palmerston North’s Gary Davis by one point after two races, and then drove through from grid 29 to fifth spot while Davis failed to finish.

Former champion Keith Spanhake (Kawerau) led a strong attack by the Rotorua drivers to finish second on 81 points ahead of fellow Rotorua racers Steve Axtens and Clive Pritchard who tied on 80 points. Axtens won a run-off for the final podium spot.

The trip from Christchurch was rewarded with fifth place for Peter Ross with Whakatane-based Baypark driver Graham McRobbie completing the top six.



Auto Trader New Zealand