Article Search


Waite wins hard-fought Ford race


Latest news from Timaru Mike Pero Mortgages Motor Race Series meeting.

Timaru International Raceway, March 3, 3pm. Andrew Waite held off a determined attack by Michael Burdett to win this afternoon’s first MTA Formula Ford heat at Timaru.

Pole-winner Burdett led early till Burdett slipped by, and then hammered away at the young Aucklander’s lead for the remainder of the 10-lap race.

He made one big lunge on the way into the Eases, but Waite retained the advantage.

Sam MacNeill moved on to the leading duo, waiting for a gap to open, but none did and he came home third.

Earlier, Anthony Pedersen scored a lights-to-flag victory in the first Mini Challenge heat, holding off Brent Collins.

In a largely processional race, Gary Johnston finished third.

Pedersen set a new lap record of 1m 13.600s.

Photo caption: Formula Ford race-winner Andrew Waite. File photo by Fast Company/Graham Blow.


Auto Trader New Zealand