Article Search


Venue change for V8 Utes final


Organisers of the 2008/2009 Enzed V8 Utes series have cut the championship by one round after it became clear the new Hampton Downs circuit in the northern Waikato wouldn’t be ready in time to host the final round

The series will now end two weekends from now (March 22), at Teretonga Park, Invercargill.

The change sees the series finale move from what would have been the country's newest motor racing circuit to the oldest. Teretonga Park celebrated its 50th birthday in 2007.

The second-to-last round is at Timaru this weekend and four drivers, reigning champion and current points leader Matthew Lockwood (pictured), Caine Lobb, Mack Peach and Simon Beirne, are in with a chance of winning the title.

Each has won a round of the series to date - Lockwood at Manfeild, Peach at Pukekohe, Beirne at Taupo and Lobb last weekend at Ruapuna, Christchurch.


Auto Trader New Zealand