Article Search


Surprise pole sitter at Hamilton V8s


Tim Edgell has won pole position for the BNT V8s at Hamilton

Auckland’s newest motor racing star, Tim Edgell, has qualified on pole position for the opening BNT V8s race supporting the V8 Supercars at the ITM 400 in Hamilton this weekend.

Edgell powered his Chesters Falcon to the fastest time in today’s qualifying by a margin of 0.2857 secs to confirm his status as the find of the past season’s championship.

Lining up beside Edgell on the front row of the starting grid for tomorrow’s 12 lap race will be Hamilton hometown driver Kayne Scott who led the qualifying towards the closing stages in his Fujitsu Heat Pumps Falcon while Nelson’s John McIntyre qualified the Talleys Falcon in 3rd after dominating testing and the early part of the single qualifying session.

Angus Fogg (Auckland) will complete the second row of the grid after setting the 4th fastest time in his LG / Newstalk ZB Falcon ahead of Christchurch drivers Andy Knight (Radio Live Falcon) and Eddie Bell (Independent Fisheries Falcon). They were followed by the first of the Holdens driven by Aucklanders Andy Booth (Big Ben Commodore) and Andrew Anderson (ITM Commodore).

Hamiltonian Simon Richards (Sew-Eurodrive Falcon) and Aucklander Paul Manuell (Orix Falcon) completed the top ten to be followed by Clark Proctor (Auckland), Nick Ross (Cambridge), Dean Perkins (Tuakau), John Penny (Taupo) and Darryn Henderson (Wellington). A total of 23 cars will face the starter in the weekend’s three races and close racing is expected in what is a non-championship Trophy Round.

With no points scoring to consider, drivers are a lot more relaxed than usual but have also declared they want to feature prominently in what is effectively their end of season hit-out. If qualifying was anything to go by, competitiveness will set the scene for the weekend in what will feature three sprint format races of 12 and 16 laps.

However, the meeting has not started well for some drivers as Wade Henshaw (Christchurch) was eliminated from qualifying early after a blown oil cooler sent him spinning and creating a red flag stoppage to clean oil off the circuit. Christina Orr was also disappointed when a faulty differential prematurely ended her day in the pits.     

There will be three BNT V8s races held over the weekend with Race 1 (12 laps) set for an 11:00 am start on Saturday with Race 2 (12 laps) and Race 3 (16 laps) scheduled for Sunday at 9:15am and 1:15 pm respectively.            


1.    Tim Edgell            Auckland           Ford Falcon               1:31.3449

2.    Kayne Scott          Hamilton           Ford Falcon               1:31.6306

3.    John McIntyre       Nelson              Ford Falcon                1:31.7062

4.    Angus Fogg          Auckland           Ford Falcon                1:31.8426

5.    Andy Knight         Christchurch       Ford Falcon               1:31.8735

6.    Eddie Bell            Christchurch       Ford Falcon                1:32.2294

7.    Andy Booth          Auckland           Holden Commodore     1:33.0045

8.    Andrew Anderson  Auckland           Holden Commodore     1:33.1496

9.    Simon Richards     Hamilton           Ford Falcon                1:33.2532

10.   Paul Manuell        Auckland           Ford Falcon                1:33.2568 

Auto Trader New Zealand