Article Search


Sumner wins Hawke’s Bay Rally


Sumner wins Hawke's Bay Rally

August 4, 2007, 5pm. Dean Sumner has won the Hawke’s Bay rally, Round 4 of the Vantage Aluminium Joinery New Zealand Rally Championship.

Sumner held the rally lead from Special Stage 2, gradually taking it out to 18.6 seonds before the final test, Darkies Spur.

On that stage, second-placed Sam Murray (Subaru Impreza WRX STi) made a late charge, slicing eight seconds of the Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 9 driver’s lead.

Brett Martin (Evo 9) finished third behind Sumner and Murray, with Hayden Paddon (Evo 8) fourth, ahead of the Evo 9 Lancers of Stewart Taylor and Dylan Turner.

Paddon’s placing has seen him retake the series points lead with two round to run.



Auto Trader New Zealand