Article Search


Stanaway scores maximum points at Ruapuna


Richie Stanaway never put a foot wrong in MTA Formula Ford round at Ruapuna.

Richie Stanaway has swept into the lead of the 2008/2009 MTA New Zealand Formula Ford Championship after dominating the third round at Ruapuna, Christchurch.

Stanaway qualified his French Mygale fastest, then won all three races.

But Stanaway’s wasn’t the only sensational performance. Fifteen-year-old Jamie McNee finished second overall with a second and two fourth placings.

Simon Evans was third for the round after posting third, fourth and fifth places.

Stanaway led race from the start, fending off strong challenges by Stefan Webling (Stealth) to squeak home 0.075 seconds in front. Evans was third, ahead of McNee.

Race two began with a lap one clash between Webling and Stanaway, with Webling retiring.

McNee, Martin Short and Evans fought a pitched battle before McNee got the upper hand. Short and Evans finished close behind.

Stanaway led the 12-lap finale from lights to flag, holding off a determined Webling who had battled through from fifth on the grid.

Mitchell Evans got the best of a four-way fight with older brother Simon, Short and McNee to take third place. McNee was fourth, followed by Simon Evans.

Mitchell Evans set a new lap record of one minute 28.290 seconds.

Top 10 championship standings: Richie Stanaway (Tauranga) 565; Stefan Webling (Oakura) 547; Simon Evans (Auckland) 453; Jamie McNee (Wellington) 443; Mitchell Evans (Auckland) 429; Martin Short (Hamilton) 397; Matthew Penrose (Rangiora) 368; Damon Leitch (Invercargill) 348; Chris Cox (Rangiora) 321; Brett Sullivan (Nelson) 304.

Auto Trader New Zealand