Article Search


Smith chasing second Wigram Trophy win in F5000


Ken Smith will be out to win his second Lady Wigram Trophy in a five-litre V8-powered Formula 5000 when he lines up in his Lola T430 at Christchurch’s Ruapuna Park racetrack on January 18

Smith won the trophy race on the Wigram airfield circuit in Christchurch’s southern suburbs in 1976, driving his beloved Lola T332 F5000 car; he repeated the win in 1991 in a Ford BDA-powered Formula Atlantic Ralt RT4 in 1991.

In recent seasons, the Lady Wigram Trophy race has been part of the Toyota Racing Series but a change in calendar meant the TRS would miss the annual mid-January Lady Wigram Trophy meeting.

That prompted the Canterbury Car Club to offer organisers of the MSC New Zealand F5000 Tasman Cup Revival Series the chance to run the prestigious trophy race.
Smith leads the Tasman Revival series after winning all four races at the second round at Eastern Creek in Sydney, Australia.
At Ruapuna, he’ll face 23 other drivers including fellow 2008/2009 series title prospects Tony Richards (Lola T332) and Aaron Burson (Talon MR1A), three-time former MSC series champion Ian Clements (Lola T332).
International drivers in the Wigram trophy field include Britons, Michael Dwyer (Lola T400) and husband and wife Frank and Judy Lyons (Lola T330 and Eagle FA74), Canadian Jay Esterer (McRae GM1) and Australian Aaron Lewis (Matich A50).
2008//09 MSC New Zealand F5000 Tasman Cup Revival points standings
Ken Smith (Lola T430) 163; Tony Richards (Lola T332) 129; Aaron Burson (Talon MR1A) 127; Ian Clements (Lola T332) 107; Stan Redmond (Lola T332) 97; Sefton Gibb (Lola T332) 95; Stuart Lush (McRae GM1) 78; Bruce Leeson (McLaren M10B) 69; Tony Roberts McLaren M22) 61; Andrew Robson (Lola T332) 60.


Auto Trader New Zealand