Article Search


Scott wins pole and first NZ V8s race


Fujitsu Ford Falcon driver extends his series lead over champion John McIntyre at Timaru.

Former NZ V8s champion and current points leader, Kayne Scott, kept up his momentum, qualifying on pole and winning the first heat of the BNT V8s series round at Timaru yesterday.

Scott led from start to finish in the Fujitsu Ford Falcon to post his third win of the season, ahead of Angus Fogg (LG Ford) and reigning champion John McIntyre (Castrol Falcon). Fogg set a new lap record of 66.573 seconds.

Craig Baird brought the United Video Ford home fourth, with Tim Edgell completing a Blue Oval domination of the top five in the Chesters Falcon.

Sixth placed Andrew Anderson was the first Holden Commodore finisher, in the ITM-backed car, ahead of Andy Booth’s Big Ben Holden.

“Angus (Fogg) got close to us, closing the gap on us several times,” said Scott. “This track uses tyres. It’s neat to drive, but it’s difficult to pass here.

“You’re really relying on someone making a mistake, especially when we’re so close at the front of the field.”

“I just wanted to keep nipping at Kayne’s heels,” said Fogg. “We used our car up during the race and that allowed John (McIntyre) to close in.”

Results of Race One: Kayne Scott, Hamilton, Ford Falcon, 1; Angus Fogg, Auckland, Ford Falcon, 2; John McIntyre, Nelson, Ford Falcon, 3; Craig Baird, Australia, Ford Falcon, 4; Tim Edgell, Auckland, Ford Falcon, 5; Andrew Anderson, Auckland, Holden Commodore, 6; Andy Booth, Auckland, Holden Commodore, 7; Eddie Bell, Christchurch, Ford Falcon, 6; Dale Williams, Auckland, Ford Falcon, 9; Adam Brook, Christchurch, Ford Falcon, 10.

Auto Trader New Zealand