Article Search


Saturday Motorsport Round-up


McDonald seeks Grand Prix crown

McDonald seeks Grand Prix crown

February 24, 2007. Twenty-eight drivers headed by newly crowned national champion Jamie McDonald (North Shore, Auckland) will contest the New Zealand Sprint Car Grand Prix tonight at Mt Maunganui’s Baypark Speedway.

The Grand Prix title will be decided by a US-style format with time trials, two heat races, a dash for the top 12 cars, a last chance B-main and the 20-car championship final.

Also on the entry list are former NZ champions Allan Wakeling (Henderson, Auckland), Kerry Jones (Waiuku) and Ben Finemore (Tauranga) and the in-form Dean Brindle (Hamilton) who won the South Pacific Sprint Car Champs raced over a similar format at Baypark last month.

Galli for Rally NZ

February 24, 2007. Exciting Italian rally star Gigi Galli will be a starter at Rally New Zealand later this year.

Rally NZ organisers have announced that Galli will include the August 30-September 2 event based in Hamilton on his WRC programme in a Citroen Xsara run by PH Sport.

On his previous New Zealand visits Galli drove a Mitsubishi Lancer crashing out in 2004 and finishing eighth the following year.

Also confirmed this week is that 19 of 23 teams registered for the Production World Rally Championship have nominated New Zealand as one of the events they will start. The Rally is round 11 of the World Rally Championship and round five of the PWRC.

Big entry of internationals expected

February 24, 2007. Up to 20 international crews could be in action when Northland roads host the FIA Asia Pacific Rally Championship for the first time in May.

Organisers of the Hella International Rally of Whangarei (May 11-13) have confirmed APRC officials have container bookings for 14 cars already, which is an indication there could be double the number of international entries.

The Rally will be the second leg of the seven-round FIA Asia Pacific Rally Championship as well as the second round of the New Zealand Rally Championship.

Those teams expected include two cars from the Indian-based MRF team - which won 2005 FIA APRC with Jussi Valimaki – along with the Les Walkden Rally Team that boasts defending champion Cody Crocker from Australia in a Subaru.

Other freight bookings have been received from Japan’s Cusco Racing with one car, six from New Caledonia and three from the Arai Racing Team that is headed by former FIA World Production Car Champion Toshi Arai.



Auto Trader New Zealand