Article Search


Qualifying times from Timaru


Halliday, Burdett, Pedersen and McIntyre take poles

Timaru International Raceway, March 3, 2007, 12.15pm. A1 GP racer Matt Halliday has qualified on pole by a significant margin for this afternoons’ first Battery Town Porsche GT3 race. Halliday has gridded his car six-tenths of a second ahead of Joy Vincent, with Rick Armstrong a further tenth back.

Then comes teenaged Jono Lester, followed by Kevin Bell and Dean Cockerton.

In the MTA Formula Ford qualifying, Michael Burdett squeaked to pole starting position, lapping his Van Diemen 0.057 seconds faster than Andrew Waite.

Palmerston North speedster Sam MacNeill in third quickest, three tenths behind Waite.

In the Mini Challenge, Anthony Pedersen turned the tables on hometrack fastman Brent Collins to take pole by 0.023s.

Collins was fastest in all three practice sessions yesterday, followed by Pedersen.

In the NZ V8s session just complteted, Jphn McIntyre was fastest in the BP Ultimate Ford Falcon, followed by double former champion Andy Booth in the Tasman Motorsport Holden Commodore.

More on the V8s later.

– Mike Stock at Timaru.


Auto Trader New Zealand