Article Search


Pukekohe hosts round two of BNT V8s Championship


Hydraulink 200 at Pukekohe Park, 7-9 November 2008

After an action-packed opening round of the 2008-09 BNT V8s Championship in Taupo early in October, the potentially 30-strong field of New Zealand V8s heads to Pukekohe Park  for round two of their seven round motor racing championship, with Hamilton’s Kayne Scott leading the championship contenders.

Testing for the Hydraulink 200 at Pukekohe takes place on Friday 7 November, qualifying and race one on Saturday 8 November and two races on Sunday 9 November. 

Unnanounced as yet, is who’s going to replace the injured Paul Radisich in the HPM Racing Ford? Radisich scored 184 points in the opening round to share top spot on the points’ table with former V8s champion Kayne Scott.

However, the following weekend saw Radisich badly injured in a high speed crash in the Supercheap Auto 1000 at Bathurst, Australia. The Kiwi racing driver is still in hospital and progressing well, but obviously his New Zealand Tracer Motorsport team needs to find a replacement driver to continue in the series. Points are allocated to each driver, not the team, so to do well in the championship overall, the HPM-backed Tracer team needs another top driver to take on the talents of Scott, John McIntyre, Andy Booth, and others.

HPM Racing team manager Greg Bellingham says a replacement driver recommended by Radisich is testing with the team on Tuesday 4 November and an announcement will then be made.

Another important issue revovles around Angus Fogg who, following his win in the reverse grid race three in Taupo, was disqualified from the results by the event director for an alleged technical infringement involving a wheel.

Fogg has appealed the penalty and a stewards’ hearing is due to be held a day or two before the Pukekohe round. Until the hearing outcome is announced, the results for round one are officially classed as provisional. If Fogg is successful in his appeal, the winner’s 75 points would be reallocated to his total and the leader-board reshuffled with Radisich head of Scott, Booth and McIntyre then Fogg in fifth.

But as things stand with the Fogg decision, Scott leads the championship with 184 points (technically first equal with Radisich) going into the Pukekohe round point-wise. Nelson’s John McIntyre and Auckland’s Andy Booth – both in new cars that debuted at Taupo with great success – are third equal with 165 points. In fifth on the points’ table with 117 points is Pukekohe’s Michael Bristow, at 21-years-old the youngest competitor in the field. Bristow is a former V8s development series champion now contesting in his first full season in the BNT V8s. The top ten is rounded out with Rotorua’s Paul Pedersen sixth, Christchurch’s Eddie Bell seventh, ex-pat Gold Coast-based Kiwi Craig Baird eighth, Gold Coast’s David Besnard ninth and West Aucklander Andrew Anderson in a strong tenth position.


Auto Trader New Zealand