Article Search


Porsche victorius at 24 Hour race


For the fourth time in a row, Porsche has won the Nürburgring 24 Hour race

The 480hp Porsche 911 GT3 RSR of the Manthey Racing team crossed the finish line with a one lap advantage over the second-placed Audi R8.

The sister Manthey Porsche, the 445hp 911 GT3 Cup S came in third. Seven Porsche race cars finished in the top ten.

New Zealand's Craig Baird came in ninth place.

A total of 235,000 spectators watched the fastest 24 Hour race in history on the Nürburgring. Clocking up 3933 kilometres, the Manthey Racing squad improved on its own distance record from 2006 by a further 101 kilometres.

Until the early morning hours, the winner of last year was entangled in a gripping duel with the fastest of the Audis. As the regulations allow the more powerful R8 LMS a 20-litre larger fuel tank, the Audi could turn out one more lap per tank. “To counteract this we had to take more risks and turn one qualifying lap after the other to stay in the lead,” says Timo Bernhard, describing his most gruelling 24 hour race to date.

“It was only when the Audi experienced technical problems that we could take it a little more carefully during the last hours,” added Marc Lieb.

Overall result 2009 Nürburgring 24 Hour race

1. Bernhard/Lieb/Dumas/Tiemann, Porsche 911 GT3 RSR, 155 laps
2. Abt/Hemroulle/Kaffer/Luhr, Audi R8 LMS,154
3. Collard/Henzler/Lietz/Werner, Porsche GT3 Cup S, 152
4. Alzen/Bert/Arnold/Mies, Porsche 911 GT3 Cup, 150
5. Basseng/Fässler/Rockenfeller/Stippler, Audi R8 LMS, 149
6. Schmitz/Abbelen/Althoff/Heyer, Porsche 911 GT3, 149
7. Kräling/Gindorf/Scharmach/Holzer, Porsche 911 GT3 Cup, 149
8. Bermes/Kainz/Schmickler/Bergmeister, Porsche 911 GT3 Cup S, 148
9. Quinn/Quinn/Baird/Denyer, Porsche 911 GT3 RSR, 146
10. Adams/Ludwig/Meier/Grossmann, BMW Z4 M Coupé, 145

Auto Trader New Zealand