Article Search


Pitman wins DIRTcar Nationals


February 13, 2007, speedway news round-up.

Oklahoma racer Daryn Pitman led from start to finish to win the 36th annual DIRTcar Nationals at Florida’s Volusia Speedway Park on Sunday night. The three-night season opener for the 2007 World Outlaws Sprint Car Series concluded with a 30-lap A-main with front row starters Pitman and Tim Kaeding (California) running at the front for the full distance.

Defending World of Outlaws champion Donny Schatz (pictured at right) of North Dakota moved up from sixth starting spot to finish third ahead of Iowa’s Terry McCarl, Pennsylvania’s Tim Shaffer and 2006 National Sprint Tour champion Danny Lasoski.

Indiana’s Joey Saldana made an impressive run from 24th starting position to eighth place.

The next World of Outlaws race is February 23-24 at Thunderbowl Speedway, Tulare, California.

145 drivers chase NZ title

A field of 145 drivers has entered the New Zealand Stock Car Championship at Auckland’s Waikaraka Park Speedway this weekend.

The national title for the class formerly known as Standard Stocks has been seeded into six qualifying groups of 24-25 cars each for preliminary racing on Friday night.

After each group has raced three heats, the top five point-scorers progress into the 30-car Pick-a-Part New Zealand Champs to be decided over three 20-lap races on Saturday.

The defending champion is Palmerston North racer and car constructor Peter Rees who last month finished second in the Super Stock national title at Dunedin.

Racing starts 7pm both nights.



Auto Trader New Zealand