Article Search


News from Manfeild


News round-up from Mike Pero Motorsport Race meeting at Manfeild

Stop Press

February 18. Fourth place in the third NZ V8 race at Manfeild this evening has given Kayne Scott the lead in the championship.

He also won the Manfeild round in the Fujitsu Holden Commodore after racking up a second and a third placing in earlier races.

Mark Pedersen drove faultlessly to win the third race, from Clark Proctor and Cameron McLean (more details later).

Knight’s day gets perfect start but

February 18, 2007. Christchurch driver Andy Knight won the startline drag race and went on to dominate the Toyota Racing Series heat at Manfeild on Sunday morning but in a rather shambolic third race, he retired with mechanical problems.

At the time he was mounting a strong challenge on race leader, Daniel Gaunt.

Knight won the morning’s first raced, from Ben Harford, with reigning champion and series points leader Gaunt third.

Ken Smith had one of his best TRS results, finishing fourth.

Pole-starter Shane Van Gisbergen recovered from a spin to finish fifth, ahead of Christina Orr.

Van Gisbergen got a poor start and emerged from Turn 1 in third place, behind Knight and Harford. In the same corner shuffle, third starter Smith fell back to fifth, behind Gaunt.

Orr, running ahead of Australian woman Leanne Tander, closed in sixth-placed Nelson Hartley and passed him in Turn 1 on lap two.

Nic Jordan and Tander began disputing eighth, till the Australian established herself in the placing.

Van Gisbergen spun on lap six, dropping behind Orr.

The lead two cars opened a gap, and Van Gisbergen poured on the pressure to close in on Orr and pass her on lap 10.

Race 3 had three starts, and two big incidents.

The front-runners got through the corner safely, but there was mayhem near the back and out came the red flags.

There was confusion about the restart but eventually the field got away in a rolling start, and there was immediate mayhem.

Harford, who had led after the first start, rode up over the rear of Knight’s car – which had started phase two of the race off pole.

The race progressed but Harford pitted to replace the damaged front wing before resuming the race.

Knight shuffled back through the pack to third place, and Gaunt went into the lead, pursued by Van Gisbergen. Smith was fourth.

Knight made his way past van Gisbergen.

Six laps into the restart, there was a multi-car incident on the pit straight. Cars went in all directions with none colliding.

But when the fracas ended, Orr’s car was stranded on the grass, just by the kink that leads on to the pit straight proper.

The race was red-flagged when it was clear Orr couldn’t get out of her car unaided. She was eventually lifted gently out and placed on a stretcher before being put in an ambulance. She drew a cheer from the crowd when she waved as ambulance officers transferred her.

Gaunt led from the single-file restart. Knight made a strong but unsuccessful lunge for the lead at the sweeper.

Seven laps into the third segment of the race he slowed and parked the car at the side of the track.

Gaunt went on to win, from van Gisbergen, Nelson Hartley, Daynom Templeman, Smith and Earl Bamber.

Van Gisbergen’s second place gave him enough points to win the international section of the TRS series, from A1 GP Development teammate Gaunt.

Burdett wins FF Race 3

Michael Burdett scored a strong win in the third MTA Formula Ford race at Manfeild this afternoon, holding off a persistent attack from Kim Crocker.

Crocker led from the start, pursued by Hugh Gardiner.

On lap two, Crocker stumbled at Higgins Corner and Gardiner and Burdett went past

But the brand-new engine, installed in Gardiner’s Van Diemen for this race, blew a lap later, when he was leading.

That left Burdett in charge, and he went on to win, from Russell Hartley, Sam MacNeill, Daniel Jilesen, and Andrew Waite.

MacNeill has retained the series lead despite a weekend in which he struggled to find a car set-up.

He has 761 points, to Waite’s 624 and Jilesen’s 611.



Auto Trader New Zealand