Article Search


Mighty move gives Whelan a win


Formula Fords saved the best for last, turning on a superb, hard-fought race in their third heat at Teretonga.

March 11, 2007, 2.20pm. Dunedin driver John Whelan produced a stunning move to go from third to first place and the eventual win in the second MTA Formula Ford Championship race at Teretonga Park, near Invercargill, this afternoon.

Whelan had been running behind series and race leader Sam MacNeill and second-placed Kurt Peterson as the cars entered the Loop on lap 11.

He drove around both on the outside line, and emerged from the corner in the lead, hanging on to win, with Peterson a close second.

Daniel Jilesen worked his way into third place a lap later, displacing MacNeill and hanging on to take third.

MacNeill had led initially after the team fitted his Van Diemen with a new engine. He opened a good gap, but the car didn’t seem to maintain its pace and he dropped back to finish fourth.

Michael Burdett, who won the first two races of the round, developed mechanical problems and didn’t finish.

After a strong weekend, Whelan won the round on amassed points.

– Mike Stock at Teretonga.


Auto Trader New Zealand