Article Search


McDonald takes Sprint Car crown


Jamie McDonald wins NZ Sprint Car title at Western Springs

February 18, 2007. Jamie McDonald (North Shore, Auckland) has won the 2007 New Zealand Sprint Car Championship.

The win continues a consistent rise through the ranks which saw him finish third in his 2005 rookie season and runner-up last season.

In the 30-lap title race at Western Springs last night McDonald, driving his Haigh-powered J&J, led home eight time champions Kerry Jones (Waiuku) and Allan Wakeling (Henderson).

McDonald started from the outside of the second row in the 20-car final.

Front row starters Ricky Logan (USA) and Dean Brindle (Hamilton) both failed to finish. Brindle was leading on lap three when a broken rear axle ended his challenge. Logan was chasing McDonald through the traffic when he glanced off a lapped car and hit the wall with seven laps to go.

In a stunning qualifying performance earlier in the evening, Logan set a new lap record of 11.772 seconds – the first official sub-12 second lap at the Springs.

Fourth place went to Kevin Hinchcliffe (Auckland) with the rest of the 13 finishers being Skinny Colson (New Plymouth), Colin Entwisle (Mt Maunganui), Greg Pickerill (Hamilton), Peter Huijs (Wanganui) , Steve Duff (Christchurch), Havard Daniels (Auckland), Paul Donovan (Napier), Shay Oliver (Tauranga) and Ron Salter (Auckland).

Photo captions: Two views of the new New Zealand Sprint Car champion Jamie McDonald at Western Springs last night. American Ricky Logan's race ended in the wall.



Auto Trader New Zealand