Article Search


Mason wins Otago Rally and leads 2007 series


Mason wins Otago Rally and leads 2007 series

Dunedin, April 15, 4.45pm. Richard Mason has won the Otago Rally and taken the lead in the 2007 Vantage Aluminium Joinery New Zealand Rally Championship.

The reigning champion and BNT Subaru Impreza WRX STi driver won both legs of the event on his way to overall victory.

The Leg 2 win came down to the final stage after officials said an error had been made on Mason’s time for SS12, and stripped him of 10 seconds.

That made it vital for Mason to push hard in the Forbury Park superspecial which ended the rally, to ensure he held on to his slender advantage over Gilmour.

Emma Gilmour (Vantage WRX) was second, followed by reigning junior champion Hayden Paddon in a Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 9.

They were also second and third in Leg 2.

Log back in later for a detailed report

Photo of Mason during Leg 1 by Euan Cameron.


Auto Trader New Zealand