Article Search


Mason leads after four stages


Mason leads after four stages

June 2, 2007, 2.30pm. Subaru Imprezas and Mitsubishi Lancer Evos are level-pegging with three of each in the top six of the Wairarapa Rally after Special Stage 4.

But it’s a Subaru that leads the rally.

Reigning champion Richard Mason (Impreza WRX STi) leads Evo 7 driver Nathan Thomas – who has proved the sensation of the rally so far, leading through SS3 and winning two stages – by 8.7 seconds.

Evo 9 driver Dean Sumner is third, almost 24 seconds behind Thomas.
Sumner is ahead of Sam Murray (WRX) and series leader Hayden Paddon (Evo 8) who is being disadvantaged by running first on the road and sweeping loose gravel off the stage surfaces.

Callum McInnes is the sixth of the national series runners, also in a WRX.

Then come Evo 9 driver Patrick Malley and WRX pilot Emma Gilmour.

Aaron Cook leads the Kiwi 2 two-wheel drive section, and Mark Tapper is in control of the Ford Fiesta challenge category.

Photo caption: Sam Murray runs fourth in the Wairarapa Rally (file photograph).


Auto Trader New Zealand