Article Search


Lush time in Timaru


Lush wins two races to take victory in Timaru F5000 round

February 12, 2007. Auckland historic car racer Stuart Lush drove his McRae GM1 to overall victory in Round 3 of the 2006/2007 F5000 Tasman Cup Revival Series at Timaru's Timaru International Raceway on Sunday.

Lush won both Sunday races after finishing second behind Christchurch’s Ian Clements (Lola T332) on Saturday.

But Clements didn’t race on Sunday because of a long standing personal commitment.

That left Aucklander Aaron Burson (Talon MR1A) to offer the sternest challenge to Lush.

Lush made the best start in this morning's race but behind him all hell broke loose.

Christchurch's Stan Redmond (Lola T332) and Invercargill's Barry Leitch (Reynard) collided, causing a chain reaction through the pack. Redmond took to the grass but the worst affected was Tony Richards (Lola T332) who was faced with the prospect of hitting Redmond or taking avoiding action.

He chose the latter and regained the track well behind the rest of the field. Lush and Munro Tall (Reynard) had escaped the worst of the mayhem and were leading the field, with Tall leading briefly after Lush slid wide at the hairpin.

Once back ahead, Lush had a trouble free run to the flag. Tall stayed in second place until the final lap when Aaron Burson passed him on the back straight to claim second place. Tall finished third.

Richards recovered from the lap one incident to finish fifth.

Burson started Race 3 from pole, but Lush took the lead at the first corner and there was another tangle further down the field.

Officials red-flagged the race after Richards hit Tall from behind, eliminating Tall and dropping himself to the back of the field again.

Lush won the restart and led all the way from Burson.

Redmond, running without third gear, came home third.

Photo: Fast Company/Alex Mitchell Warbirds.

Results from the 2006/2007 F5000 Tasman Cup Revival Series Round 3.

Race 2, six laps.1. Stuart Lush. McRae GM1, 6 minutes 34.042 seconds,
2. Aaron Burson, Talon, 0.309s behind.
3. Munro Tall, Reynard, 0.912s behind.
4. Stan Redmond. Lola T332, 10.526s behind.
5. Geoff Harriman, Formula Holden, 19.025s behind.
6. Tony Richards, Lola T332, 25.645s behind.

Race 3, eight laps.
1. Stuart Lush, 8 minutes 39.835 seconds.
2. Aaron Burson, 0.293s behind.
3. Stan Redmond, 14.107s behind.
4. Tony Richards, 19.345s behind.
5. David Abbott, Lola T430, 20.536s behind,
6. Kerry Anderson, 21.794s behind.


Auto Trader New Zealand