Article Search


Loeb wins Rally Mexico


Sébastien Loeb and Daniel Elena took their Citroen C4 to first place in the Rally Mexico over the weekend

Sebastien Loeb scored a victory at Rally Mexico and has lept to the top of the FIA Drivers' standings after round two of the 2010 World Rally Championship.

Loeb, the defending and six-times World Champion, built up a lead of almost a minute during Saturday's competition, and cruised through Sunday's three stages to finish 24.2 seconds ahead of Petter Solberg, who claimed second place in another Citroen C4 WRC.

The win was Loeb and co-driver Daniel Elena's fourth consecutive success at Rally Mexico.

After finishing runner-up to Ford rival Mikko Hirvonen on the series' opening round in Sweden, the Frenchman is now six points clear at the top of the drivers' standings.

"I had a good lead today and was not going to take any risks with that when I started first on the road,” said Loeb. “I was just breezing through the last couple of stages trying to keep my concentration. It's a good victory; I'm back in the lead of the championship and the points we lost in Sweden we've won back - that's important.

"Okay, it's only the start of the championship but I'm really happy. We had a really good drive yesterday and a good feeling in the car. It’s looking good," he added.

Final positions
1.  S Loeb/D Elena                      FRA             Citroen C4              3hr 42min 41.7sec
2.  P Solberg/P Mills                   NOR             Citroen C4              3hr 43min 05.9sec
3.  S Ogier/J Ingrassia                 FRA             Citroen C4              3hr 43min 07.0sec
4.  M Hirvonen/J Lehtinen               FIN             Ford Focus RS   3hr 44min 29.2sec
5.  J-M Latvala/M Anttila               FIN             Ford Focus RS   3hr 44min 56.8sec
6.  H Solberg/I Minor                   NOR             Ford Focus RS   3hr 45min 29.7sec
7.  F Villagra/J Perez Companc  ARG             Ford Focus RS   3hr 52min 55.1sec
8.  X Pons/A Haro                       ESP             Ford Fiesta S2000       4hr 01min 26.1sec
9.  M Prokop/J Tomanek          CZE             Ford Fiesta S2000       4hr 01min 43.7sec
10 A Araujo/R Miguel                    POR             Mitsubishi Lancer       4hr 04min 14.2sec

1.  S Loeb                        43pts                
2.  M Hirvonen            37pts                
3= J-M Latvala            25pts                
3= S Ogier                        25pts                
5.  P Solberg                     20pts                
6.  H Solberg                     16pts

1.  BP Ford Abu Dhabi    67pts 
2.  Citroen Total                        61pts
3.  Citroen Junior               32pts
4.  Stobart M-Sport Ford         28pts
5.  Munchi's Ford                  8pts

Auto Trader New Zealand