Article Search


Lockwood increases V8 Ute series lead


Defending champion edges further ahead after winning first race of round two of Enzed szeries at Pukekohe

Reigning champion Matthew Lockwood extended his 2008/2009 Enzed V8 Ute Series points lead when he won the opening race of Round 2 at Pukekohe, south of Auckland, yesterday.

Mack Peach, also Holden Commodore-mounted, broke the V8 Ute lap record on his way to second place, Peter Robb took the final podium spot to give Holden a clean sweep.

V8 Ute racing is all about panel rubbing and push-and-shove (one driver says the average life expectancy of a set of headlights is 20 minutes), and there was a first corner incident as the field charged into Pukekohe’s infamous sweeper.

It eliminated fastest qualifier Caine Lobb and involved the utes of Simon Beirne and James Urquhart. Lobb's Holden was out of the race with its left-front wheel gone. Though their cars were damaged Beirne and Urquhart recovered to finish ninth and fifth.

Lockwood took the lead on lap five and Peach slotted into second two laps later. Robb was elevated to third after officials slapped Geoff Spencer with a time penalty for allegedly jumping the start.

Spencer had started from pole after a marble draw reshuffled the grid and moved Lobb back in tbe pack.

Results of Race 1, 12 laps.

1. Matthew Lockwood, Holden Commodore.

2. Mack Peach, Holden Commodore.

3. Peter Robb, Holden Commodore.

4. Bob Grove, Ford Falcon.

5. James Urquhart, Holden Commodore.

6. Peter Ward, Holden Commodore.

Points standings: Matthew Lockwood, 218; Mack Peach, 171; Graham Beirne, 167; Caine Lobb, 167; Simon Beirne, 162; Craig Paterson, 155; James Urquhart, 154; Geoff Spencer, 150; Mike Pero, 141; Peter Robb, 130.

Auto Trader New Zealand