Article Search


Jones wins North Island title


Former national champion wins North Island Sprint Car title.

March 11, 2007, 10.30am. Kerry Jones won the North Island Sprint Car Championship at Mount Maunganuiā€™s Baypark Speedway last night.

After two 15-lap preliminary races the Waiuku racer was equal top points-scorer with Ossie Sokol (Auckland) and Dean Brindle (Hamilton).

He then drew the number one marble which gave him the choice of starting position for the final.

He elected to start from the outside of the front row and led the 25-lapper from start to finish.

National champion Jamie McDonald started fourth and won an exciting battle with Brindle to secure second place while Brindle crossed the line third but had been black-flagged during the race for excessive backfiring.

He was excluded and received a 21-day suspension. That promoted Mt Maunganui racer Colin Entwisle on to the podium.

Defending champion Allan Wakeling (Henderson) won the first preliminary ahead of Jones but was involved in a second race collision.

He started 11th and charged through to fourth place in the final ahead of Skinny Colson (New Plymouth) and Phil Game (Auckland).



Auto Trader New Zealand