Article Search


Inkster consolidates Taranaki lead


Inkster consolidates Taranaki lead

July 7, 2007, 2.15pm. Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 6.5 driver Glen Inkster holds a solid lead of almost a minute as the Taranaki Tarmac rally enters its second half.

Inkster is now 57 seconds ahead of Evo 3 Lancer driver and 2006 Taranaki winner, Neill Marshall.

Inkster took control of the event from Special Stage 1 and has won three of the event’s four stages as the action heads to the southeast of New Plymouth city.

New Zealand champion Richard Mason runs third in his Subaru Impreza WRX STi, one minutes 14 seconds behind Inkster.

Mason lost 65 seconds to Inkster in SS4, Wawiri Road and dropped from second place to third overall.

Tom Good, who has been running strongly in his NZ-built Saker Sprint sports car, finished second to Inkster in SS4, with Marshall third.

Fourth on SS4, in a fightback drive after a tough morning, was top seed Glen Smith (WRX) who runs 13th overall.

Late entry Daynom Templeman (Evo 6) is fourth overall, ahead of the first two-wheel drive car, Charlie Evans’ Mazda RX7.

Glenn Rosser (Impreza) runs sixth.

North Island series points leader Grant Liston continues to lead his class, the Honda Integra Type R running 21st overall.


Auto Trader New Zealand