Article Search


Impressive action at Teretonga


The standard of racing at Teretonga Park was top class when the second meeting of the season was held on Sunday

The meeting, presented by Downer, featured some impressive performances in several different classes.

Inky Tulloch of Gore had a great day in Group A of the Noel McIntyre Drainage Clubmans Saloons. Tulloch won four races in his Honda Integra Type R. Darryn Andrews of Lincoln was second behind Tulloch on three occasions in his turbocharged Nissan Primera with Brent Cross of Winton taking the runner-up spot in the Flying Farewell in his Mitsubishi EVO. Andrews was third in that race. Earlier Cross had taken two third placings and a fourth with Andrew Brown of Invercargill taking third place in the opening race of the day.

Ian Clapperton of Dunedin debuted a Holden Commodore in Class B of the Noel McIntyre Drainage Clubmans races. He won the first two races convincingly from Jeremy Skeggs of Invercargill in a Toyota Trueno and Paul Muir of Gore in a Holden Commodore. Clapperton then went on to finish an impressive fourth in the Flying Farewell.

In the class races Tulloch won the 2501cc & over race and Greg Elder of Gore in another Honda Integra took the 1601cc-2500cc honours. Bradley Dawson of Invercargill won the 1301-1600cc class in his Toyota Trueno while Walter Willmott of Invercargill took the 0-1300cc class in his Falcon Star Car.

Bradley and Jeremy Dawson provided some great racing during the day while Greg Elder also mixed it with the pair on occasions. Unfortunately the Triumph TR7 of Outram driver Steve Scoles was a non starter after an 'off' in qualifying.

Paul Muir of Gore was impressive in the NITTO NZ SIX Saloons. Muir won all three races in his Holden Commodore. Sam Paddon of Dunedin in a Commodore and Wayne Christie of Christchurch in a Ford Falcon followed him home in the first of those races while Bryce Thompson of Dunedin in a Falcon and Paddon were second and third respectively in the final two events.

The Pro 7 Saloons raced alongside the NZ SIX Saloons with Christchurch driver Jason Corboy winning the first and last races from Daniel Taylor of Timaru and Wayne Elliott of Invercargill. In the second race of the day Corboy left the circuit while leading, handing victory to Taylor ahead of Elliott and George Gilbert of Christchurch.

The Sports & Racing Car Class was joined by the South Island Formula Ford category at this meeting. Damon Leitch was dominant in his Formula Renault Tatuus early on, winning two races from fellow Invercargill driver Jamie Conroy. However he was not sighted again after an oil pump belt broke. Don Nelson of Riverton and Conroy went on to take the remaining wins. In the Formula Ford category Chris Vlok of Darfield was the first Formula Ford home in three races in his Van Diemen RF94 including the 14 lap South Island Formula Ford Championship race. The championship race saw a safety car period that resulted in an exciting last few laps. Brendon Leitch of Invercargill showed his class in the early races as he came through the traffic brilliantly after early gearbox problems. He was the first Formula Ford in two of the races.

The next race meeting at Teretonga Park will take place over the weekend of 3/4 December.

Keep up to date with what is happening at Teretonga Park this summer at

Auto Trader New Zealand