Article Search


Holden front Ford pack for Sandown 500 qualifying


Holden's Garth Tander sat the Skaife partnered HRT car neatly on pole position with one of the best flying laps in recent years during the shoot-out at the Sandown 500.

Tander's lap was sizzling and just outside of the record held by Marcos Ambrose. After switching from the Toll HSV Dealer team to HRT for this race it appears the gamble may pay dividends when he teams up with Mark Skaife over 500kms tomorrow.

Team Betta Electrical's Craig Lowndes and co-driver Jamie Whincup will start from position #2 for tomorrow's Betta Electrical Sandown 500.

They headed seven Ford teams in the top-10. Starting on the second row will be the CAT Ford Performance Racing Falcon of Jason Bright and Mark Winterbottom, with the WPS Racing Falcon of Max Wilson and David Besnard starting at position #4.

On the third row is the second WPS of Jason Bargwanna and Craig Baird, with the Jeld-Wen Motorsport Ford of James Courtney and Glenn Seton alongside.

Top-10 Shoot-out results: Sandown 500
1 Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VZ 1:10.6102
2 Team Betta Electrical Craig Lowndes Ford Falcon BA 1:11.3471
3 Ford Performance Racing Jason Bright Ford Falcon BA 1:11.4215
4 WPS Racing Max Wilson Ford Falcon BA 1:11.4708
5 WPS Racing Jason Bargwanna Ford Falcon BA 1:11.6196
6 Jeld-Wen Motorsport James Courtney Ford Falcon BA 1:11.7777
7 Holden Racing Team Ryan Briscoe Holden Commodore VZ 1:11.7804
8 Tasman Motorsport Jason Richards Holden Commodore VZ 1:11.8630
9 FirstRock Home Loans Steven Johnson Ford Falcon BA 1:11.8683
10 Autobarn Racing Steve Owen Holden Commodore VZ 1:12.3719

Auto Trader New Zealand