Article Search


Harford takes strong win in TRS


Wellington region racer Ben Harford turned the tables on champion Daniel Gaunt to win this morning’s TRS race at Teretonga Park.

March 11, 2007, 1pm. Ben Harford (white car, running second in picture at rght) took an early lead in this morning’s Toyota Racing Series race at Teretonga Park, near Invercargill, and held it till the finish.

He led home series leader and current champion Daniel Gaunt who won yesterday’s Spirit of a Nation Cup race.

Series returnee Matthew Hamilton was third this morning.

Then came Shane van Gisbergen, Earl Bamber, and NZ V8 driver David Besnard. Dominic Storey completed the top six.

Though there was little action among the front four – though Gaunt edged closer to Harford at stages – there was a good battle for fifth, between Bamber (leading) and Andy Knight.

Twice, in what were the moves of the race, Knight dug deep and tried to force his Tatuus-Toyota into a gap as they charged into the Castrol Esses. Twice Bamber kept him out.

Knight tried a different strategy and went for a pass into the Loop, the long corner off Teretonga’s 800-metre main straight, but he slid off.

He got going again but finished well down the order.

Australian woman Leanne Tander, running with Besnard in a two-car Aussie team, finished ninth.

And Kiwi teenager Christina Orr placed 12th after a good battle with 11th-place Ken Smith for much of the distance.

The TRS cars will contest the 40-lap NZ Grand Prix this afternoon, starting at 4 o’clock.

In other racing this morning, Australia-based New Zealander Craig Baird won the Porsche GT3 Cup race from Jody Vincent and Jono Lester.

Gavin Dawson took victory in the Mini Challenge heat, from Anthony Pedersen and Peter Scharmach.

– Mike Stock at Teretonga.

Photo caption: Daniel Gaunt will start the NZ Grand Prix from pole position. Photo by Fast Company/Graham Blow.


Stop Press

Parker Enzed NZ V8 series results posted just now, list the finishing order as: John McIntyre, David Besnard (0.024s behind)' Kayne Scott, Paul Pedersen, Luke Youlden, Angus Fogg.

Paul Manuell was slapped with a 50-second penalty which dropped him to 22nd place.

Officials had given him a drive-through after an incident with Angus Fogg. It came too late in the race to be taken and Manuell was instead give the time penalty.



Auto Trader New Zealand