Article Search


Fogg takes pole for BNT V8s in Hamilton


LG Ford driver Angus Fogg, from Auckland’s North Shore, has scored his first best qualifying time of the BNT V8s this season and will start in the prime pole position on the streets of Hamilton

Fogg’s time was 1.31.3220 around the 3.4-kilometre street circuit, just two-hundredths of a second faster than the time set by new champion Kayne Scott. This makes a Ford front row for the first of the BNT V8s’ three races as part of the support programme at the Hamilton 400 V8 Supercar event.

After two-time champions John McIntyre, Nelson, and Andy Booth, Auckland, were quickest in the morning’s test sessions, Hamilton-based Fujitsu Ford driver Scott was quickly on the pace during the official qualifying sessions with Fogg hot on his heels. Andrew Porter, Auckland-based but with family links to Hamilton, was also very quick early in qualifying, at one point third-fastest.

The final official times see Gold Coast-based Craig Baird and McIntyre on the second row – the pair of Ford drivers will also meet up as competing team-mates in the Porsche GT3 races this weekend. Porter and Pukekohe’s Dean Perkins are on the third row, making in an all-Ford top six. The best of the Holden drivers is Booth who piloted the Big Ben Holden around to set the seventh-fastest time with fellow AV8 Motorsport stable-mate Andrew Anderson lining up beside him. The top ten is completed by Auckland’s Michael Bristow and Christchurch’s Andy Knight.

Two top drivers don’t appear on the official qualifying results – Tim Edgell and Paul Manuell. The driveshaft in Edgell’s Chesters Ford broke so is being replaced and Manuell’s Orix Holden suffered an engine failure. This is also being replaced and the pair will start from the back of the grid for tomorrow’s first race.

The BNT V8s contest a 14 lap race on Saturday afternoon, a second 14 lap race on Sunday morning and an 18 lap race on Sunday afternoon as part of the support programme for the Australian V8 Supercar teams. Starting positions for the second and third races will be the finishing positions for the previous race, not like the regular championship rounds which feature a full reverse grid in the weekend’s third race.


BNT V8s trophy round, Hamilton 400


1, Angus Fogg, Auckland, Ford Falcon, 1:31.3220

2, Kayne Scott, Hamilton, Ford Falcon, 1:31.3442

3, Craig Baird, Gold Coast, Ford Falcon, 1:31.8236

4, John McIntyre, Nelson, Ford Falcon, 1:31.9307

5, Andrew Porter, Auckland, Ford Falcon, 1:32.8132

6, Dean Perkins, Pukekohe, Ford Falcon, 1:33.2516

7, Andy Booth, Auckland, Holden Commodore, 1:33.6959

8, Andrew Anderson, Auckland, Holden Commodore, 1:34.1986

9, Michael Bristow, Pukekohe, Ford Falcon, 1:34.2908

10, Andy Knight, Christchurch, Ford Falcon, 1:34.7832

11, Cam Hardy, Hamilton, Holden Commodore, 1:34.3453

12, Nick Ross, Cambridge, Holden Commodore, 1:34.4416

13, John Penny, Taupo, Holden Commodore, 1:34.5230

14, Simon Richards, Hamilton, Ford Falcon, 1:34.5687

15, Adam Brook, Christchurch, Ford Falcon, 1:34.6387

16, Inky Tulloch, Gore, Ford Falcon, 1:34.9765

17, John Hepburn, Timaru, Holden Commodore, 1:35.8707

18, Shannon Coker, Hamilton, Holden Commodore, 1:38.5568

No qualifying time, Paul Manuell, Auckland, Holden Commodore

No qualifying time, Tim Edgell, Auckland, Ford Falcon

Auto Trader New Zealand