Article Search


Fogg retains V8 lead


LG Motorsport driver Angus Fogg extended his lead in the BNT V8s Championship during the second round at Powerbuilt Tools Raceway outside Christchurch this weekend

Foggy’s fourth place and two seconds in the LG-ZB Falcon meant he was able to secure a 15 point advantage over the next-best competitor, Craig Baird.

Fogg secured the second quickest qualifying time during Saturday’s top ten shootout, on the front row of the grid for Sunday’s first 10-lap race.

“But the first race was a nightmare at the start and I had to work hard to make sure I held onto fifth,” said the race driver from Auckland .

Conditions at the Powerbuilt circuit were very hot, with track temperatures well into the 40s. Starting fifth, Fogg dove to the edge of the circuit at the rolling start, taking advantage of the wide start-finish straight to power down the inside to get in front of defending NZV8 champion Craig Baird as the leaders roared around turn one for the first time. From there, Fogg maintained a comfortable second place to the chequered flag.

“The second 10-lapper was a different story – it was a great race and we were rapt with second.

“In the final race, the reverse grid 20-lapper, the LG-ZB Falcon was brilliant. It had really good pace and reasonably good tyres, so starting from 16th, it was a fantastic effort to get through to third across the line. With Tim Edgell being penalised for speeding at the rolling start and dropping from first to third, that elevated us to second.”

Second overall for the weekend was Kayne Scott with Queensland based Kiwi driver Craig Baird (United Video Falcon) completed the podium.

Fogg extends his lead in the championship heading into round three at Teretonga in January.

Championship results

1    Angus Fogg     358
2    Craig Baird     343
3    John McIntyre     279
4    Kayne Scott     270
5 =   Andy Booth     259
5=    Andy Knight     259
7    Tim Edgell     254
8    Jason Bargwanna     209
9    Paul Manuell     186
10    Eddie Bell     182
11    Martin Short     177
12    Simon Richards     167
13    Andrew Anderson     160
14    Scott McLaughlin     156
15    Nick Ross     154
16    William Bamber     149
17    John Penny     141
18    David Hopper     98
19    Wade Henshaw     89
20    John Hepburn     84
21    Haydn Mackenzie     74
22    Christina Orr     60


Auto Trader New Zealand