top-nav-left top-nav-right

Article Search


Consistency takes Webling to Formula Ford lead


Taranaki driver wins second round of open-wheeler series at Pukekohe and takes points lead.

Stefan Webling leads the 2008/2009 MT New Zealand Formula Ford championship heading into the third round at Ruapuna, Christchurch, on November 29-30.

Webling took the points lead after previous leader, Mitchell Evans (14) failed to score points in two of the races at round two at Pukekohe, and Richie Stanaway was penalised after winning race three. Webling’s consistency gave him top points for the round.

Evans took the lead off Webling on lap one of the first race and held it until the last lap when he and Stanaway touched as Stanaway made a lung for the lead.

Webling capitalised, grabbing the lead and crossing the line 0.07 seconds ahead of Stanaway. Evans finished an unhappy sixth.

Webling was leading race two from Evans and Stanaway when Evans tried to pass Webling on the outside of the sweeper.

They touched, and Evans bounced high across the grass and out of the race. After a re-start, Stanaway and Webling swapped the lead till Stanaway made a desperate lunge on the run to the chequer and crossed the line 0.035 of a second. ahead.

After a slow start in the Ron Frost Memorial race, Webling worked his way forward and hit the lead with two laps to go after Evans and Stanaway touched.

Stanaway closed on Webling, passing him on the final lap to win by 0.041 of a second. Officials later penalised Stanaway 50 seconds for the incident with Evans, That handed the race win to Webling.

Webling leads the series on 413 points, from Stanaway (340), Mitchell Evans (313), Simon Evans (29), and Damon Leitch (276).

Auto Trader New Zealand