Article Search


Brindle’s Sprint Car GP


Hamilton ace overhauls former champion to win plum race in Mount Maunganui.

February 25, 2007. Hamilton racer Dean Brindle won the New Zealand Sprint Car Grand Prix at Baypark Speedway last night (Saturday).

Brindle led home a Salter Cartage team quinella finish when he overhauled former national champion Kerry Jones (Waiuku) in the closing laps of the 20-lap final.

Jones had started from the outside of the front row and led until Brindle, who started fifth in the 20-car field, completed an inside pass.

Newly crowned national champion Jamie McDonald (North Shore, Auckland) recovered from a heat race tangle to progress through the B-main and produce a strong drive from 14th grid position to take third place.

Pole position starter Tom Rusher (Hamilton) was fourth ahead of Greg Pickerill (Hamilton) and Rodney Wood (Tauranga).



Auto Trader New Zealand