Article Search


Booth wins Teretonga NZ V8s round for Holden


Holden fans had plenty to smile about when Andy Booth won this weeken's BNT series round at Invercargill.

Holden bounced back to the top in the 2008/2009 BNT NZ V8s series with Big Ben Pies Commodore driver, Andy Booth, taking overall victory in this weekend’s round at Teretonga Park, Invercargill.

Booth inherited the race one victory when first-across-the-line John McIntyre was excluded after technical officers said the wheel track of his BP Ultimate Ford Falcon was wider than the regulations allowed.

Booth, a former double champion, went on to finish second in heat two and ninth in the reverse gird final race.

Fujitsu Falcon racer, Kayne Scott, held on to the series lead, with McIntyre second, Booth third and Craig Baird – the race two winner at Teretonga – in fourth place in the United Video Falcon.

“It’s been a long time since we’ve had a round win,” said Booth. “We came here hoping to be fast and the car’s been fantastic.

“It’s especially good to see us in third and Bairdo in fourth closing the gap to Kayne and Johnny Mac at the top of the points table.”

Baird and Paul Manuell (Orix Commodore), Booth’s teammate were second and third overall for the weekend. “It's awesome for our guys,” said Manuell. “They've been gutsing it out all weekend in this rain and wind to give us competitive cars.”

Baird says that with just six more races in the championship “things are certainly getting closer on the leaderboard.”

With 829 points, Scott leads McIntyre by 32 points. Booth has 709 and Baird is on 693 points.

LG Electronics Ford racer, Angus Fogg, won the reverse grid final race after starting third.

He led early from John Hepburn (Commodore), Simon Richards (Ford), Andrew Anderson (Holden) and Michael Bristow (Falcon).

Scott, McIntyre, Booth and Baird worked swiftly through the field, finally passing Anderson for second place and closing in on Fogg.

The final order was: Fogg, McIntyre, Anderson, Scott, Bristow, Nick Ross (Commodore).

“It makes it easier to win these reverse grid races when you’re starting near the front, although being near the front of the reverse grid isn’t really a good thing,” said Fogg. “Still we’ll take the win and the points after a challenging weekend.”

Results of Race 3.

1. Angus Fogg, Auckland, Ford Falcon.

2. John McIntyre, Nelson, Ford Falcon.

3. Andrew Anderson, Auckland, Holden Commodore.

4. Kayne Scott, Hamilton, Ford Falcon.

5. Michael Bristow, Pukekohe, Ford Falcon.

6. Nick Ross, Cambridge, Holden Commodore.

7. John Penny, Taupo, Holden Commodore.

8. Paul Manuell, Auckland, Holden Commodore.

9. Andy Booth, Auckland, Holden Commodore.

10. Adam Brook, Christchurch, Ford Falcon.

Championship points standings.

Kayne Scott, 829; John McIntyre, 797; Andy Booth, 709; Craig Baird, 693; Paul Manuell, 581; Angus Fogg, 570; Paul Pedersen, 552; Eddie Bell, 500; Andrew Anderson, 487; Michael Bristow, 453.

Auto Trader New Zealand