Article Search


Audi breaks Mid Ohio victory drought


Audi's diesel sports racing car scores an emphatic one-two in the American mid-west

Lucas Luhr and Marco Werner led all but four laps to win last weekend’s American Le Mans series race at Mid-Ohio and break Audi’s four-year victory drought at the mid-west track.

They led an Audi R10 TDI one-two, heading home Dindo Capello and Emanuele Pirro on a track which in the past favoured the lighter LM P2 cars.

Audi last won there in 2004.

Werner took the lead on lap five after passing four Acura-Hondas and Porsches which started in front of him.

He set a new lap record on lap seven and handed over the diesel to Luhr after 50 laps.

Four caution periods wiped out the advantage of the #2 Audi, but on each restart, Luhr drew away from the rest of the field.

Capello worked his way from seventh on the grid to second in just 18 minutes. Despite spinning after making contact with a GT2 car, dropping him temporarily to third place, Capello was back in second place before handing over to Pirro.

"I was touched by a GT car and sent into a spin,” Capello said. “This was really bad luck. The yellow flags helped quite a lot to recover again."

Mid-Ohio American le Mans Series results

1. Luhr/Werner (Audi R10 TDI), 111 laps
2. Capello/Pirro (Audi R10 TDI) 7.717s behind.
3. Dumas/Brabham (Porsche) 11.272s behind.
4. Brabham/Sharp (Acura-Honda) 11.881s behind.
5. Fernandez/Diaz (Acura-Honda) 18.519s behind.
6. Maassen/Long (Porsche) 32.798s behind.

Auto Trader New Zealand