top-nav-left top-nav-right

Article Search


2012 FIA Asia Pacific Rally Championship, 26 - 28 October


This weekend’s sixth and final round of the FIA Asia Pacific Rally Championship (APRC) will be held at Longyou, which is one of the counties of Quzhou City, Zhejiang Province, China

Currently led by Australian Chris Atkinson and co-driver Stephane Prevot driving the MRF Tyres Skoda S2000, the duo won the opening round, New Zealand’s Brother International Rally of Whangarei. Since then Atkinson and Prevot have signed to compete in the World Rally Championship with WRC Team MINI Portugal while attempting to secure his maiden APRC title.

Second place is held by Palmerston North’s Brian Green and Hastings based co-driver Fleur Pedersen. They are 32 points behind Atkinson’s total of 126 and eight ahead of third placed Alister McRae and Bill Hayes. Dunedin’s Emma Gilmour was the last New Zealand driver to feature in the APRC, finishing second overall in 2009, a result shared with Palmerston North’s Geof Arygle, who also finished runner-up in 2005.

Other information:

  • The rally will be contested over roads through a region dating back over 2000 years.
  • China Rally Longyou 2012 covers 230.96km of mixed surface road from broken concrete to slippery forest tracks cut in to 13 special stages.
  • The rally starts with a super special stage on the Friday afternoon 26 October with competition continuing over the Saturday before concluding around 2:20pm Sunday afternoon.
  • Profile and details on the rally is attached.
  • PROTON Motorsports press release:
  • A press release from MRF Tyres is expected later today.
  • Information on the APRC can be found on the website

Auto Trader New Zealand