top-nav-left top-nav-right

Article Search


1-2 for Holden at Bathurst


Craig Lowndes and Mark Skaife headed home Jamie Whincup and Steve Owen in a 1-2 finish for TeamVodafone at the Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000

The four drivers completed a perfect 161-lap race to cross the line 0.173 seconds apart.

Toll HRT driver Garth Tander and co-driver Cameron McConville came in third.

Sunday's victory is the fourth for the TeamVodafone team, and takes the tally of Mt Panorama wins between Lowndes and Skaife to 11.

The race began with Bundaberg Red Racing driver Fabian Coulthard crashing at almost 300km/h near the bottom of Conrod Straight.

Coulthard emerged unscathed, and the race continued on lap five with pole-sitter Mark Winterbottom being overtaken by Lee Holdsworth. Lowndes waged a battle with Holdsworth's co-driver David Besnard through the middle stages of the race before snatching the lead and victory.

Lowndes had taken over the Commodore on lap 82 after Skaife hurt his back, and overcome various safety car interruptions and a low-fuel warning.

“It had been ten years since Mark (Skaife) and I had raced together and we showed we still had what it took at Phillip Island. To come back to Bathurst and do it all again is just amazing and a real credit to Mark after he stepped away from full-time racing over a year ago," said Lowndes.

“It was a typical Bathurst race. We had to expect the unexpected and be on our toes to respond to strategy changes and the challenge with conserving fuel.

“This has really been a team effort and I’m very pleased for Jamie (Whincup) and Steve (Owen) to be able to finish a very close runner-up and deliver the team a deserved 1-2 victory.”

Earlier in the week Lowndes managed another great feat - smashing the standing lap record of Greg Murphy to assume the honour of the fastest man around Mt Panorama.

Supercheap Auto 1000 Bathurst Final Results:

1. C.Lowndes/M.Skaife
2. J.Whincup/S.Owen
3. G.Tander/C.McConville
4. J.Bright/M.Halliday
5. J.Courtney/W.Luff
6. G.Murphy/A.Simonsen
7. L.Holdsworth/D.Besnard
8. R.Ingall/P.Morris
9. M.Winterbottom/L.Youlden?
10. M.Caruso/G.Ritter

Auto Trader New Zealand