top-nav-left top-nav-right

Article Search


Ayling flies to win Stage 6


July 7, 2007, 4.30pm. Young Taranaki driver Brad Ayling fairly flew through Special Stage 6 of the Taranaki Tarmac Rally to win the test this afternoon at a stunning average speed of 127.60km/h.

The Subaru Impreza WRX STi driver, who rejoined the rally this afternoon, won the stage by nine seconds from another re-starter, Joe McAndrew in the VIP Petfoods Nissan Skyline GTR.

Daynom Templeman was next quickest, four seconds behind in his Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 6.

Glen Inkster still holds the rally lead in his Lancer Evo 6.5, and is one minutes 10 seconds ahead of Neill Marshall (Evo 3) with one special stage to run.

Third overall is Tom Good in the NZ Saker Sprint sports car, followed by Templeman.

Then come Charlie Evans (Mazda RX7), Glenn Rosser (WRX), and Stuart Rose in his Lexis V8-powered Toyota Hilux Ute.

One place behind him is top seed Glenn Smith (WRX), recovering from a tough morning.

With only 22km of special stage distance left, it’s unlikely that Smith will be able to get past Rose.

Smith is running second in the North Island Series section of the event, behind round leader Marshall.


Auto Trader New Zealand