top-nav-left top-nav-right

Article Search


2.30pm Pukekohe news round-up


Jilesen wins wild Formula Ford race

April 21, 2007, 2.30pm. Daniel Jilesen dodged the carnage to post a narrow win in the second MTA Formula Ford series race at Pukekohe this afternoon.

Jilesen threaded his way past the spinning cars of Jason Liefting and John Whelan after the pair touched at high-speed as they turned into the sweeping right-hand corner at the end of Pukekohe’s pit straight.

The pair hit the Armco barrier on the outside of the track.

As he strove to miss the spinning cars, new Formula Ford champion Sam MacNeill turned his Van Diemen around and also ended up against the Armco.

Andrew Waite finished second in the race, 0.146 seconds behind Jilesen. Kurt Peterson was third.

Photo caption: newly-crowned Formula Ford champion Sam MacNeill.

Moore prevails in Mini Challenge

April 21, 2007, 2.30pm. Richard Moore got the jump on the field after a late-race restart to post a win in this afternoon’s Mini Challenge race at Pukekohe.

Moore was leading when a car crashed at the hairpin, triggering a Safety Car period while it was recovered.

At the restart, Moore opened a small gap over Eddie Bell who held off Brent Collins to post a second place finish.


Auto Trader New Zealand